Historic Thornhill

Settlement in Thornhill began when Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe advertised lots on Yonge Street, as it stretched northward from Lake Ontario. The name Thornhill did not come into existence until 1829 when Benjamin Thorne, a local merchant, was successful in having a post office established. By then it was the largest milling centre north of York (Toronto). The central core of the original village is a fine example of heritage preservation permitting a rare glimpse into the past when Ontario (then Upper Canada) was young.

The City of Thornhill offers a comprehensive self-guided walking tour that allows visitors to peruse the past as it is nestled in with the modern city. Historical attractions in Thornhill include,

Baker House, Built 1853

John Charlton House, Built c. 1870

John Arnold House, Built c. 1872

MacDonald House*, Built c. 1900

Armstrong House*, Build c. 1875

The walking tour of historic Thornhill includes many more fascinating sites. Brochures can be printed at home from the website of The Society for the Preservation of Historic Thornhill, or can be picked up at the Thornhill Village Library.

 

*Buildings and grounds can be rented for special events, corporate workshops, exhibitions or sales. Contact 905 832 8500